Gifting and stuff

For our MQG Victoria December meeting we did a mini-mini swap. It had to be quilted and less the 5″ square. It was a fun little challenge to make something tiny.  So I made this…

DSC03110.JPG

and I got this cute little selvage mug rug back.

DSC03108.JPG

Now, for Christmas gifts I would love to be able to make all my gifts, but there is not enough time, and sometimes it’s just not the right thing.  I guess I can understand that. But for those I know will appreciate handmade things, I got to work. For all the years my boys have been in school I have made pot holders for their teachers. Pair that with some jam and I think that’s a pretty good gift.

DSC03059.JPG

Over the years I have done so many-see my flickr page- but this style seems to be my go-to. Lined with 2 layers of batting and 1 layer of thermal batting in the middle, they are strong and pretty heat proof.

For a teachers who has had both of my boys, I went a bit further and made a table runner.

DSC03067.JPG

And I only took a photo of the one bag, but for 3 young girls in my life ( 12, 6 and 2 years old) I made Vanity bags with age appropriate treats inside. This one if for the oldest.

DSC03076.JPG

This cute and super easy bag is based on a pattern from The Impatient Patchworker . I adapted it a bit and added more scrappy detail for fun.

All the gifts have been given so it is safe to post. Hope you had a rewarding gifting Christmas too.

 

 

One thought on “Gifting and stuff

  1. I like both the minis. I’ve never tried a woven effect but I do like them (it’s on my someday list).

    And this year I didn’t make anything for Christmas, not even the pjs. It was nice to not have that pressure. Your makes look great though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

