Big

This weekend it was about big pieces of fabric. and making big things.

A friend as school asked if I could finish the edges for some table clothes for the teacher appreciation lunch.  “Sure” says the crazy lady.  By next week. ” Sure” says the crazy lady. Cause I certainly don’t have anything else piled up!!  But I want to help, and it needs to get done.  So 45 feet of fabric arrived Friday morning at my house.

It had been cut into five 9′ pieces, which frayed a lot.

DSC03355

Trimmed, zig-zagged, double turn edges all sewn together and delivered.  The friend who asked for me to do this job took my kids to the beach for 3 hours so that I could get this done. Fair trade.

DSC03361

The other big job was to make a back for the batik quilt top to donate to people who lost everything in the fire in Fort MacMurray.

I didn’t have a big enough piece for the whole back, so I needed to come up with something.  My mom’s cousin is a designer for Ethan Allen and a few years ago gave us a big bag of scraps and cuttings. Amongst others there was a lot of this Greek column fabric. But it was a lot of smaller pieces and one long strip.

DSC03358

There wasn’t quite enough of the one fabric, so I added contrast fabric strips to bulk it out.

Pretty happy with the result. Hopefully this will work with the other side.DSC03359

So now it’s a matter of putting it all together.  That will be next weekend.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Big

Leave a Reply

