Local colour, crazy colour, and just a hint of colour

What’s a girl to do when there is a ton of housework to do? get inspired to post on her blog instead!!

DSC03391.JPG

I am so lucky to live near the Saanich Peninsula on the south end of Vancouver Island. A large part of the peninsula is and agricultural land reserve, and hopefully will remain that way so we can continue to have an abundance of farms. Yay farmers! Sometimes I can’t get out to the farm stands and hop from one to the next, so again I am lucky to have places like The Root Cellar very close by. They have local stuff all year round, and some of the farms that don’t have their own stands sell there.  In this world of globalization, I feel that supporting our local farmers is so important.

DSC03383

This week there was an abundance of lovely local stuff in such vivid colours. That makes me happy. Sometimes a visual feast can be a good treat. Plus, the more colour the better it tastes. Don’t you agree.

On a totally different note, I came across some intense but “too crazy for my natural loving eyes” colour.

IMG_20160617_093655

I was stunned by this rose. This photo has NOT been edited, this was in a bouquet at a florists. It’s amazing, but just wrong to my senses. But bright colour none the less.

Now for the more subdued colours. I have a hydrangea in the front yard, and another in the back.  They are one of my favorite flowers. Very cool that the blossoms start out green and then flush out in colour from the tip, inwards. I had probably noticed this other years, but hadn’t really thought about it being different from most flowers until taking these photos with the purpose of finding colour.

Can’t wait for these happy plants to be in full colour

I am trying to play with the colours of the blossoms, so old coffee grounds are put in the soil around the pink one to make it more towards the blue tones next year. I make sure to keep the ph level from getting too basic in the blue plant’s pot, so that it stays closer to periwinkle blue, rather than pale blue. How cool that they are changeable.

One thought on “Local colour, crazy colour, and just a hint of colour

Leave a Reply

