Table runner gift

A few posts ago, I mentioned working on  a  time sensitive project.  My aunt had a big birthday a few weeks ago.  I wanted to make something special, but size conscious as it had to travel to Denmark.

I started with the blue and white fabric I found at the quilt show and couldn’t resist.

DSC03289  And then the difficult task of determining if the background was cream or white. Neither one matched, but I decided on the white for a cleaner look.

DSC03293

My aunt has blue and white dishes with gulls on them, so my brain was working on curves.

DSC03294

But also wanted some different interest. Varying widths of stripes will do.

DSC03302

I planned a LOT of  very dense quilting so I pinned a LOT!

DSC03306 I forgot to get a photo of the quilting before I sent it, but I did very close straight line quilting on the white, and a very tiny stipple free-motion quilting on the blue.  Pretty happy with how it looks.

image

After finishing the big batik quilt, I needed something small that I could tackle in a short amount of time this weekend, just to get my brain into another gear.  Enter block lotto for my quilt guild.  This month is a tiny tent in simple colours.

DSC03401

It was so much fun, I made 4! The instructions said navy/night sky, with a yellow triangle edged in turquoise.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Table runner gift

Leave a Reply

