every last bit

There’s this funny thing about quilting.  Every quilter I know has a stash, small, medium or ridiculously big. as a general rule, we all love to buy fabric and treasure it and use it too.  For me part of my stash is making use and using it up.  Ultimately I dream of using up every last piece of fabric in my stash to make beautiful things.  But there is a further expression to Stash…a quilter’s stable of fabric.  STABLE…stash accumulation beyond life expectancy.  sigh, there is never enough time to quilt.  And what a sad life if one only quilted and there was nothing else.  So, I guess balance.

In the mean time, it is very satisfying to use up all of a fabric bundle.  In this Not a bargello quilt, I have managed to use up all the fabric.  Not that I don’t like these fabrics, but I am ready to move on and not have them haunting me anymore.  Patch work on the back helps use it all up.

And I like having that little touch of the bargello remnant.

DSC03435

On using up all the bits, I piece together batting when I don’t have enough.

DSC03425DSC03424

Even these little bits will get patched together for potholders one day.

DSC03427

And so the quilt progresses. Yay.

DSC03430

All pinned now and I have begun quilting.  I have mentioned before that my least favorite part of making a quilt is the basting, but when I started pinning, I was having troubles planning the quilting.  As I pinned, I came up with a plan.  So I guess the process was helpful.

Wishing you a good week of satisfying sewing and using up.

2 thoughts on “every last bit

Leave a Reply

