Old Colour

I was up at my parents house and had the pleasure of spending some time with this dear old piece of furniture.

DSC03497

This secretary/escritoire (chatol in Danish) was made for a long ago family member back in the early 1700s.  Yup, that means this beautiful old girl is around 300 years old.  I love that it has been in my family; touched, owned, loved by people related to me through many generations.  The wood does get dry and needs regular attention in the form of wood oil.  The photo above is after I gave it a treatment.

Every time I rub with a soft cloth and oil, I am entranced by the hand carved details,

DSC03498

depth of colour, and amazing rich wood grain.

DSC03499

Nothing but hand tools 300 years ago!

I remember one of the chores on our “to do” list as kids was to regularly take down the old brass decorations my mom had on top, and dust them and the Chatol.  I love antiques and old things and perhaps part of that comes from having this piece of furniture around and being taught to care for and respect it.  One day maybe this will be mine to treasure.(Although my 2 sisters might have an opinion there!)

4 thoughts on “Old Colour

    1. my parents came here in 1970 from Denmark. When my Mormor(grandma) passed away in the late 80s many old family treasures were sent to us, although the Chatol came earlier, once my parents had a long term home to put it in.

      Like

Leave a Reply

