Yellow, red, ready

I came out into the garden today and was greeted by these “smiling” faces.

DSC03605

DSC03607

What a nice way to start the day. The sun wasn’t shining in the sky, but these sunflowers made up for it.

And then in the front yard the Juliet tomatoes are in full swing. Plump and ready to eat.

DSC03593

And looking like clusters of grapes. Yum!

I seem to have a lot of sewing happening all at once.  Different from the approximately 11 quilts in progress, these are out on the table, calling out for attention, due to deadlines.

I have entered a quilt in the Saanich Fair, in the modern quilt category.  That one needs a hanging sleeve, due by sept 1.  Better get on that.

The Ugly fabric challenge for my quilt guild needs to be quilted and bound.  Deadline Sept 15th. Quilting has  begun.

Block lotto to present at the sept 15 guild meeting.  2 blocks made and steps photographed. Still need to made up the handout and directions pdf.

Oh, wait, Netta got sidetracked!!!  I found a cute improve block in a book,that I wanted to try. Pattern by http://mythreesonsknit.blogspot.ca/. 

I started cutting 2 inch squares and was chain piecing in no time.

DSC03599

This became lots of little “houses”:

DSC03600

which became more chains:

DSC03601

Which became this :

DSC03604

Which made me smile.  Not sure what will become of this little one.  Maybe a table runner?  Fun to make, and came together pretty quickly.

Some friends tell me they get so busy some days they forget to eat.  That NEVER happens to me, but sometimes I can “forget” to clean the house, have a shower, etc in my obsession for cutting and sewing fabric.  Onwards!

 

 

 

One thought on “Yellow, red, ready

  1. Love it! I was scrolling along looking at the pictures and thought, super cute runner. Then realized, hey, that’s my block. Lol. I’ll have to make one as a runner, too. Very nice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

