Shot cotton colour

It sometimes feels silly how excited I can get about fabric.  But I know there are so many of us that feels the same.  Capital Iron http://www.capitaliron.net/  in Sidney now carries Shot cotton!  Which excites me!  Shot cotton is when the weft and warp at different colours, with amazing results.

dsc03631

These 3 just called to me, and even though I have yet to put pencil to graph paper, I am planning a quilt for the American Patchwork & Quilting Nine-Patch Challenge.  These quilts will be displayed at Quiltcon  next year in Savannah, GA.  Here is my tentative full palette.

dsc03634And maybe a dark charcoal (but not black) for the background.   This one will be fully planned before diving in and cutting fabric.  I don’t know if I will sleep tonight, thinking about this one!

Last weekend was the Saanich Fair.  I entered a quilt in the Modern Quilt Category.  And I won a ribbon! Yay, me.  The pink ribbon is for Special Mention ( aka 3rd place).  I don’t know if there were more than 3 quilts entered in this category, but it is a ribbon nonetheless.  I hope to get some constructive criticism/feedback from one of the judges.

dsc03625This is my Blown Away Chevron.  Three of the chevrons have been blown off the grid, and into the swirls and whirls of free motion quilting.  The fabric was an autumn themed charm pack given to me by a quilty friend a few years ago.  Thanks M.

Tomorrow is my first day off with the kids back at school.  I have planned 5 full hours of nothing but quiet. Ahhh.

One thought on “Shot cotton colour

Leave a Reply

