moody colour

One blessing of having quilty friends is that sometimes you come home and there is a bundle of fabric on your doorstep.  I had no idea who it was from so posted it on facebook, and learned it was on a free table and my friend and first quilt teacher M thought it called out “Netta”! So she grabbed it and gave it to me.

My kids have decided that the throw pillow I made will be a visual gage of mommy’s mood.

Good day, happy day.

dsc03662

Stand back and stand slack.

dsc03663

Not likely to be used for mood measure, but look at that…Pink and green again!  And I like the idea of fun throw pillows in the living room.  And frugal gal jumped in… the old pillow was a bit flat, so I used a towel with frayed edges as my batting, to add thickness.  Worked pretty well.

And although I had been looking for a charcoal grey for the contrast in my shot cotton nine patch quilt, I have decided to go with this deep blue linen.

dsc03664 I think I have got my design decided, but am hesitant to start cutting.  It’s all good to “say” I am making a quilt to enter into a challenge that may end up going to Quiltcon, but now I need to just do it and not worry about anything but the making.

I just checked out “Bedroom Style, perfectly pieced” by April Rosenthal from the library.  At the beginning of the book she has a little quilt style quiz.  Don’t you love a good little quiz to give fun insight into yourself?  I do.  No surprise my “style” came out as Coastal Vintage.  Yup, love me the old Cape Cod white trimmed house and stylings.

Now for a few days of work, and then back to some sewing.  Ooh, and I finally hung a mini quilt in my living room. (Not pink and green, but I think it still works).

dsc03665

 

 

One thought on “moody colour

Leave a Reply

