colour gone

There is a lot of colour in autumn, but it is also the disappearing of colour as nature gets ready to rest for winter.

Bright sunflowers from my garden have now become pretty  colourless.

This one is drying inside to hopefully harvest and roast the seeds.

dsc03678

I have never done this, so it will be purely trial and error.

The other sunflower doesn’t seem to have had a chance to ripen as much: there is not a hint of black on the seeds, so I have left it outside for the birds to enjoy.

dsc03679

I have often grown sunflowers, with varying degrees of success.  I don’t have a photo of mine, but a fun variety was the Teddy Bear Sunflower.

Image result for teddy bear sunflowers

These lovely little ones are an almost perfect pompom of happy yellow.  I saved the seeds form one, to plant the next year.  That was very successful, but not in the way you would think.  I think these are a hybrid, modified to be short and cute, so when the next generation grew, they reverted back to some previous strains.  Again I don’t have a photo( this was before digital cameras) but I ended up with giant plants with over a dozen flowers on each stem of varying colours.  It was fun.  My sister stood at her 2nd storey window with a measuring tape to see how big they had become.  They were about 17 feet tall with a stem 2 inches in diameter!  You just never know.

On a more colourful note, look what I got today from my Thirty-one party order.  Deliveries to do…

dsc03676

And a treat for me..

dsc03677

yay!

And oh wait, there’s more pink.  This is the block lotto I presented in September for my quilt guild.

dsc03621

Have a happy pink rest of your week!

Leave a Reply

