planning and precision

A splash of green, such a vibrant green.

dsc03680

And it may look bad, with the baggie there, but it is parsley.  A friend gave me a plant for the garden and a bouquet too.  I didn’t need the fresh cut stuff so decided to chop it finely and freeze it.  Perfect when you need a pinch for flavour in a soup or falafels. The strong green stained my chopping board!  Growing up parsley was a staple in many dishes my mom and dad made.  Perhaps because it is more cold tolerant and they grew up with it in Denmark. And although I like parsley in many things, I can’t stand the similar looking Cilantro.  Even the smell of it makes me veer away in the grocery store.  Anyways.

As mentioned in a previous post, I have decided to enter the American Quilting Nine patch Challenge at Quiltcon East in February 2017.  Inspired by the Shot cotton fabric I found at Capital Iron in Sidney,

dsc03631

I set to work on a plan.  Some of my quilts are very improve, but some like this one are planned and precise.  I just hope my quilting skills bring out my plan as nice as I want it to.  Lots of organizing.

dsc03681

My hubby saw my process and chuckled and said “wouldn’t it be funny if I mixed up all your labels”.  The glare he received was a pretty clear answer!  Lots of precise cutting and pinning and stitching and I am well on my way.

dsc03684

Probably won’t show much of the rest of the quilt as I want to keep it under wraps until submission.

In the meantime, I am planning block lotto for the October MQG meeting.  Here is my colour inspiration for that block, or similar.  We’ll see.

Image result for northern lights

Have a happy Canadian thanksgiving.  Look around you at the wonderful things in your world and smile and breathe for a moment.

 

2 thoughts on “planning and precision

  1. I had the same experience with parsley in my food growing up and I also loathe cilantro – maybe that is a Swedish/Danish thing too? We’re having sweet fresh cucumber pickles for Thanksgiving, how about you?

    Like

Leave a Reply

