busy busy

Yup, busy.  I think most everybody feels the busyness of this time of year, particularly makers.  I aspire to make as many of my Christmas gifts as possible.

So there is crocheting on the go, blanket and dishcloths.  Christmas cards in progress.  A few different table runners for assorted folk.  Secret Santa projects for the office and for the quilt guild.  And I always like to sew something very girly for my dear niece P in Calgary(that item is a secret for now).  And some baking is always a good way to get into the Christmas spirit, plus a warm oven helps to keep the house warm!

My older son has had the same teacher 2 years in a row, so year 2 requires a bit more thinking in terms of gifting.  NOT going to settle with soap or candles etc.  Hmm, maybe a table runner.   At the start of the year parent teacher interview I always ask their favorite colour and what colour is in their kitchen.  Mrs. R got blue/grey/white potholders last year.  I was thinking of Christmas, and then decided to use her colour scheme too.

Test palette

dsc03767

The Candy Canes didn’t make the cut, and I added a blue with sparkle, a snowflake, and a white on white snowflake.  Pieced, basted, quilted, it just needs to be trimmed and bound before Friday.

dsc03768

That was a good evenings work.

I bought this snowman material years ago, but just never found the right place for it.  I think it works well here.

dsc03769

Wishing you satisfying work, and not too much busyness that it removes the joy of the season.

2 thoughts on “busy busy

Leave a Reply

