Variety

It’s the spice, right?  And variety goes hand in hand with balance.  Sounds good to me.

I used to do many different crafty things…basket weaving, crocheting, beaded jewelry, stained glass, sewing, embroidery, painting, and Christmas crafting of all kinds.  Then I learned to quilt.  I still did most of the other stuff, but found I was feeling like I never had quite enough time for any one thing.  And I wanted to get better at quilting and that takes time.  I decided to pare down my other craft materials and cut out some altogether so that I could spend more time doing the main thing that I was steadily becoming obsessed with.  It was kind of freeing to have some of those craft things gone.  I still love to make, but don’t feel “obligated” to work with, say, beads, as they are all gone from my house.  I use that word, cause that’s how my brain works.

But sometimes it is good for your brain to do something else.  And it is good to go out with the girls and get away from the house and family sometimes.  So we went to Paint Nite.  You go to a bar/pub and eat, drink and paint.  An artist instructs you step by step to all make the same painting.

dsc03821

It was actually amazing to see the different peacocks that came out of this.  Mine was pretty true to the original ( cause I like to follow directions and rules), but many people altered the colours or perspective, or made an amazingly realistic bird.

It was fun to be creative in a way I haven’t been in a long time, but make it social, and not too brain draining.

And it helped to break up the days of sewing tiny squares.  I worked hard all weekend and got the Storm trooper quilt top together.  Although now seeing the photo, I realize I have missed a whole row of white squares on one side to frame it on all sides.  Better add that.  And I didn’t realize that the medium grey was too dark, and the light grey too light.  Too late to change it now, and it is because I wanted to use fabric I had, and not go buy more.  I think the effect is still pretty good though.

dsc03822

I don’t think the 8 year old will complain or criticize:)

Now I have this week to baste and quilt, in between 4 work days, a Parent Advisory Council meeting, an MQG executive meeting.  Well that’s variety in my week!  Needs to be done for Saturday morning for little M’s big 8th birthday.  And I only have part of the quilting planned.  Hmm.

Hope you have a great week. Threats of snow hereabouts, so we shall see what comes.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Variety

Leave a Reply

