playing with fabric

That’s always fun, isn’t it.  Well for me anyway.  I am hosting a round robin at my quilt guild and need to figure out a palette for my starting block.

A round robin is  way of making a quilt where one person makes the starting(often centre) block and then it is passed to another person to add another block, strip or border.  This continues for as many people as designated in the guidelines and at the end the first person ends up with a finished quilt top that has been worked on by themselves and 5 other quilters( in my plan).  This can be a fun way to challenge yourself, working on something for somebody else, to follow their work, and to learn to let go of your own block and trust that others will do great things.  I chose to do an anonymous swap, which adds to the fun (I think).

I am a little nervous to be in charge of this, but really wanted to be in a round robin, and nobody else seemed to be starting one in our guild, except in one satellite group that did one last year.

I have spent time reading up on how to run these and hope I can get it running smooth and successful.  If I have at least 6 people participating, then we are good to go.  But if needed I will step in and do a 2nd one or pick up if somebody has drop out. Hopefully that won’t happen as I have broken down everything pretty clearly, including the 1 year commitment, making a contribution every 2 months.

And the anonymous bags will come with a label so that each quilter can put their name on the final label.  And look what I found the other day at Bib n’ Tucker http://www.bibntucker.com/

dsc03835

Absolutely perfect for modern quilt round robin labels! I was so excited.

So now to decide on my colour scheme.

Option #1, calm and refreshing blue and green

dsc03834

Option #2, lovely, crazy, a bit busy, rainbows

dsc03837

My concern about the rainbows is that not everybody is a rainbow purist like me, which as I look at 2 of these fabrics, they aren’t true rainbows, so I might take them away.  And I have been saving the horse fabrics for something particular, with some other coordinating turquoise horse fabric from the same line.  Don’t know what that project is, but it makes me hesitate in cutting into it.

Option #3, or maybe I will go with pink and green

DSC03485

Decisions, decisions.  Hmm, I will sleep on that one.

And then I need to come up with block lotto for February.  I have an idea, but have to test the pattern in my head on actual fabric.  Sometimes my ideas work out, sometimes they just don’t:)

Oh, here is my son’s Storm Trooper quilt.  Not fully quilted, but getting there.

dsc03831

even the cat had to get in on the photo shoot!

It’s time for my sewing machine to go in for regular yearly service, so I will take a sewing break this week.

I was reading on another blog (sorry can’t remember which one) about Griddles.  Gotta get me a book of those.  Part grown-up colouring book, part colour by number, and looks like an embroidery pattern. Done by Lorraine Holnback Brodek, an former needlecraft designer.

Image result for griddles colouring books

To me this looks awesome.  Lots of potential there.

Have a fun week ahead in however you can find your colour.

 

 

3 thoughts on “playing with fabric

Leave a Reply

