Hsts

Not the scary old harmonized sales tax, the fun and versatile half square triangles.  I love them!

But first, how I got to this point.

I have a quilty friend, well more than a friend, she’s the one who’s charisma made me decide to join my Modern quilt guild.  And she is a fountain of quilty knowledge and support. You can find her at handwroughtquilts@wordpress.com. She retired as our guild president at the end of 2016 and as a thank you for all her hard work over the years, we all cut 2.5″ squares to give her.  Some might think that’s a funny present, but she was thrilled.  She loves 2.5″ squares. Here’s my contribution…(she’s a rainbow lover too).

dsc03740

That got me thinking, what do I get as excited about?  I do love 5″ squares, often called charm squares.  Often precut and found in a charm pack. Great name! But when I think of precut squares of any kind…I think about making them into HSTs.  That gets me excited! HSTs are so versatile and give so much more movement and potential shapes to a quilt.

A few years ago I drew out and systematically put together this quilt top.  Sadly it is waiting in the closet to be quilted one day.

dsc03838 Another quilt I made with a Charm pack gifted to me from a friend; you have seen before.

001

These tiny 1″ HSTs came together in a tiny doll quilt that you can see at quimperhitty@wordpress.com.

And every time you put two squares together, you can make 2 HSTs.

dsc03658

Or if you sew a square onto a corner, sew a 2nd seam and then you have left over HSTs for something in the future or to use in the same quilt like this.

I even have a little box where I collect them for ??? I am sure I will find a use someday.

dsc03839

The little blue and white stack is for a medallion border on a sort of started blue and white quilt.  I have so many quilts on the go, it is just silly!  I will really try to finish some of them this year before starting new ones, sometimes I just get a new idea into my head and start pulling and cutting fabric.

Well that’s a peek into my brain today.  Thanks for reading.

2 thoughts on “Hsts

Leave a Reply

