Slab vs Made fabric

Which do you like best? Sometimes there is a definite crossover, but I think of slab work as

dsc03845

right angles  and all vertical and horizontal, maybe a 90 degree angle thrown in. I learned about slab work from Cheryl Arkison http://www.cherylarkison.com/diningroomempire/  and from when she came and did a trunk show at a guild meeting.  I have always loved having a way to use up every last scrap and this is certainly a great way to do it.

The other way I used to use up scraps is by making “made” fabric, as Victoria Findlay Wolfe http://bumblebeansinc.blogspot.ca/ calls it.  Like this

010These are pretty much crazy squares too. They are also fun, but my order-lovin’ brain likes the organized slab much better.  I am always amazed when you take a random, same colour palette, pile of fabric and put them together, they all work together pretty well. Awesome.

And putting together scraps to make fabric seems to be a good thing.  When I first began quilting my hubby would ask “why are you cutting all that fabric apart, only to sew it back together?”  He knows better than to ask that question now.  Somehow quilting helps to keep me sane and we all like that!

Have a good week.  I am counting the days until I get another sew day.

2 thoughts on “Slab vs Made fabric

Leave a Reply

