ridiculous

 

Sometimes that’s how I feel about my fabric stash.  It is ridiculous how much fabric I have in comparison to what I actually use  in a year.  But I have pared down, and I think I would like to use everything I have.

img_20161016_093538

I started tidying and cleaning up my sewing area.  Well, not my sewing area…I sew at the dining room table.  This is my fabric and sewing stuff storage area.  I get excited and work on a project, but once I’m done, I am bad about separating and putting away the left overs.  Partly because I am already wanting to start the next project.  Talk about magpie distraction!!!  But the other part is my frustration with my fabric stash.  I love  my fabric, but some drawers are overflowing , with almost not room to put back the leftovers.  In those drawers is a lot of fabric that I have ideas for and just never get time to do.  I DO realize that this is really not a problem; to have more fabric than time.  And it’s a classic quilter’s thing.  Never mind a stash, it’s a stable…STash Accumulation Beyond Life Expectancy.  That truly is ridiculous.  Really, I could make quilts for years without buying anything except batting.

And 2 of those overflowing drawers are full of scraps.  I save anything over 1 inch.  And as much as I make scrap quilts and projects, I still have 2 drawers full.  Every year or so I pull out all my scraps and organize them by colour to make my scraps more user friendly.  This system certainly works and I get a boost of feeling organized.

I have grown so accustomed to sharing what I make on here, facebook, flickr, and instagram, that secret projects are hard!  Now that I make the block lotto each month, I can’t show my creation until long after I have made it.  Here is Sept, Oct, Nov 2016 and Jan 2017

I am having fun creating blocks, and it’s cool to make one block and then when everybody brings in their blocks I get to see them all come together.

And I have completed my center block for my round robin quilt.  I am very excited to start the exchange.

So that’s me this weekend. Hope you enjoyed the first weekend in February.

One thought on “ridiculous

Leave a Reply

