the colour of Calendula

I am a blue girl through and through.  Green has blue in it, so it’s good too.  Same with purple.  I use the other colours in the rainbow because they belong and sometimes highlight my favoured colours.  But in my drawers and drawers of fabric( arranged by colour) yellow and orange share a drawer.  And it’s only half full.

I am trying to create new thought pathways, and although it’s hard to step off a well worn track, it IS good for us to do.  Even if just the baby steps of using a bigger range of colours of fabric.  Or felt pens.

It may seem like I make a big deal out of choosing colours for a colouring book, but this is really part of my experimenting in colour to what works and what appeals.  It is hard to work in colours you don’t like!

Last nights colouring exploration went like this: Start with green, then more green…

but now for the flowers.  Pink? nope, done that lots, purple? blue? nope, nope. Orange! yup.

dsc03876and yellow too.

And as I am colouring and quite liking this colour combo I realize that it reminds me of my mom who is away right now.  Not because she loves orange particularly, but because of a flower that is always in her garden.  Even the smell of Calendula leaves makes me think of her.

Image result for calendula

I don’t talk to her every day, and we don’t see each other every week because of the 4 hours of travel between our homes, but I am aware of her absence right now.  I miss being ABLE to call her.  I can’t imagine losing a parent and am lucky that I have not.  I know she’s having a great trip and I will see her soon.  But it is cool that I could channel a thought of her through a colouring book.  Or at least that’s how I see it:)

Getting organized for quilt guild meeting tonight, and the start of the round robin.  I am eager to see how many people join me.

Happy playing with colour, wherever it leads.

3 thoughts on “the colour of Calendula

Leave a Reply

