Canada colour

Feeling like I should (oops, bad word)…

Feeling like I want to make something quilty to recognize my country’s sesquicentennial.  150 years is worth celebrating, and quilts are good at celebrating and marking time and events.

First thought was a very scrappy flag.  But then I spotted Sew Sisters Quilt sampler.

Image result for sew sisters canada sampler

That looked pretty cool.  Maybe I could change it up and make my own version with different sized blocks, and make MY CANADA.  Or something like that:)  First block was a maple leaf, maybe a flag. Nope, just the leaf I think.  Grid paper is great for figuring out sewing blocks to set sizes.

DSC03954

Lots of HSTs.  Then the layout and put together.

Yup, pretty happy about that.

DSC03959

Now I had to put some thought into the other blocks to be done.  Don’t want to copy, but  certainly using the Sew Sisters sampler for ideas.

DSC03955My own version of Canada geese, flying.

DSC03960

And then I couldn’t resist the toque block.  Mine is slightly different as I did not use a pattern.

DSC03961There is something so nice about using solid white and red.  Such clean lines and great clear contrast.  And absolutely no thought needed for colour scheme or matching shades etc.

I am not sure how big this quilt will get, but 3 blocks in a weekend seems pretty good.  I can’t see there being more than 12 blocks, and I want to get this done before july 1, of course.  Better get sketching more ideas.  Any suggestions?

Ideas so far….patchwork prairies; pointy mountains; snowflake; How do I make an ocean block in red and white??? OOh, a beaver block?

Just keep on quilting, I say.

3 thoughts on “Canada colour

Leave a Reply

