Canadiana

Even when I am not sewing, I am working out blocks for my Canada sampler quilt.  Always running through my brain for iconic Canadian things.

Last night I came home to find this on my kitchen table

DSC03965

That’s pretty Canadian.  I do have plans to make a beaver somewhere on the quilt, but as applique is not my strong suit, I am procrastinating with that one.

Bucky is visiting our house for one week.  My younger son is in Beaver’s and they each get a turn to take this gigantic beaver home and document some adventures with him.  Our cat is not impressed! She is curious, but leery of this big furry thing.  At least it doesn’t move.

I had easter Monday off as an extra day, yay.  The whole family was home, but I did get some time to sew.  The newest blocks in my Canada quilt are mountains,

DSC03966

a totem pole

DSC03968

and a lighthouse.

DSC03967

things are coming along well.  I had a major fail trying to make a basketball in a 6″ block. Just too small and fiddly.  I will try a 12″ block this weekend.  Bigger= gentler curves= less likely to distort.  (FYI: a Canadian came up with the modern day version of basketball).

Guild meeting tonight. yay! I always look forward to connecting with my quilty people. Better stop typing here, and go over to the MQG Victoria blog and do my block lotto post.

Have a great rest of your week.

One thought on “Canadiana

Leave a Reply

