Lovely Lilacs

DSC03981

They seem to be everywhere in my neighbourhood right now.

“I’m going on a lilac hunt, I’m not afraid” was the tune in my head.

It was pretty windy this morning, but having a goal of capturing some of the amazing blooms was a good incentive for my walk today.

There are hedges of them around here

And walking under the delicate scent if heavenly!

DSC03990

Some are shaped like grape clusters

DSC03986

While others are like big 3 fingered hands

DSC03996

Every one is so lush that I had to “catch” it on my camera

DSC03985

And by the looks of it, they will still be blooming for a little while to come

DSC03987

We used to have a dark purple one in the middle of the yard.  It interfered with playing soccer, football, and baseball and grabbed at your hair when mowing around it.  Now it is gone! Also at the side of the house we had a gigantic light purple lilac, as tall as the house.  Many lower branches were dead and the high up ones hung over the roof, so we cut it down, almost to the ground.

New shoots this year, but no blossoms until next year I guess.

DSC03980

Now back to sewing blocks for my Canada quilt. More to share on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

