sumac back

Yay! My Sumac tree is recovering.  Funny how a little tree can draw emotion from me.

DSC04009

But here it comes, little leaves starting,

DSC04010

Hopefully it will continue to grow happily into a tree like the old one.

Happy mother’s day to all of you moms out there.  I was “surprised” with waffles and a cup of coffee in bed. And some really cool homemade ( schoolmade would be a better term) gifts.

A string heart, tissue paper flowers and a cedar bark flower.  Awesome!  And my boys said that no matter what, they wouldn’t fight all day.  Well, they tried really hard.  And did really well, but not quite.  I also did my part and tried not to get angry with them.  That’s easy when they don’t fight!  Good day overall.  Feeling very loved.

And I got to have time to sew, today and thru the week.  I am still working on my Canada quilt, but am fitting in the baseball t-shirt quilt for a silent auction for the ballpark.  Research online suggests fusible interfacing for structure when sewing t-shirts together.  Bought that.

I didn’t get any more responses for t-shirts, but got some more old jerseys from the ballpark. Still needed more to make a decent size quilt.  How about a centre piece. Yup.

Here is our logo, and my graph paper plan.

DSC04011

Then it was just a matter of cut and piece.

DSC04012

came together really well, sorry about the colour

DSC04013

Still not quite big enough.  Time to add a few borders. I find that this is the best way to try out border fabrics.

DSC04014

And it’s coming together pretty well!  I am not sure if I will leave it like this, or add a few strips at top and bottom using the blue and baseball fabrics to make a rectangle. Wait and see.

DSC04017

Have I mentioned before that I really need a portable design wall, rather than laying quilt pieces out on the kitchen floor.  Too many times my boys run through the kitchen and squares get blown.  Ah well, one day I may even have a sewing room again.  Until then, the kitchen floor it is.

Have a good week ahead.

Leave a Reply

