white flower walk

What to do when you need to clear your colour wiring.  Well, not get rid of it, but just give it a switch to push your thinking.

As part of the quilt round robin for my guild, the piece I needed to add to was in colours that are just not me.  I find it hard to be creative when the colours do the opposite of inspiration.

So I needed to clear my head.  The best way to do that is to go outside.

I noticed that my black thorn acacia is flowering.  I love how this big tree produces flowers.  It drops annoying little leaves for about 9 months of the year, but it is a favorite of mine with it’s bright yellow/green foliage.

DSC04033So that got me hunting for white or cream flowers.  My mini rose is in full bloom.

DSC04034

Along with watering the base, I make sure to shower the whole plant.  Somebody once told me that aphids don’t like it wet, so hopefully this extra shower deters them.

Next was my hanging basket of million bells.  Over the years they have become my standard for hanging basket flowers.

DSC04039

And last but not least in the backyard, little strawberry flowers.  Ooh and the start of something yummy.

DSC04038

Clear headed,  I started to pull fabric from my stash.  Pretty quickly I warmed up to this palate of grey scale colours. I even had a few exact fabrics to match the starting block!

DSC04051

In the end I was pleasantly surprised with how it came out.  I wish I could share, but we are keeping it a surprise until the end reveal.  Part of my desire to be part of a round robin was to push my comfort zone in quilting and colours.  So far so good.

 

Leave a Reply

